By Dave Clark
For the Express

The spring sports awards were given last Thursday, June 9, in the Town of Webb School High School Gymnasium to five different teams, two of which were champions in their sport.
Parker Clemans, President of the Varsity Club, introduced the coaches who then talked about some of the highlights of the season and presented some individual awards.
Doug Riedman, coach of the boys varsity baseball team was happy to announce that four members of his team were selected to either the all-star team or honorable mention team. Mike Salsbury was picked to the all-star team with Austin Down, Parker Clemans and Garrett Pavlus each selected to the honorable mention team. In addition, based on team vote, Pavlus was the offensive player of the year for his team, Salsbury was the defensive player of the year and Clemans was named the MVP of the team.
Mark Johnston, the new head coach of the girls softball team, spoke of the improved play of his team and awarded two girls as the Player of the Year for his team. By team vote, there was a tie between Jessica Menges and Andrea Frey for that honor. All-Stars were not selected yet, but, will be in a league meeting coming up soon.
Don Allen, long time coach of the girls varsity track team, handed out his individual honors to his team who had a very successful season. Maddie Phaneuf was selected as the MVP of the team as she scored the most points in the meets than anyone else, Caitlin Bailey was second on the team in points scored. Making the all-star team were the following girls: Megan Greene, Phaneuf, Bailey, Lauren Holt, Jessica Hannah and Taylor Payne. Sarah Branch was selected to the honorable mention team.
The biggest tribute to the girls’ track team came from the audience as they gave Allen a standing ovation in thanks for his dedicated work as the coach for many years. Allen will be retiring June 30 and he will be missed. Allen leaves, not only as a fine English teacher, but as the winningest coach of the girls track team and the boys varsity soccer team in the history of the school. He will be hard to replace.
John “Louie” Ehrensbeck was a very proud and happy coach in talking about his team’s accomplishments this year. A league championship and the first ever sectional championship might have had something to do with it. Like track, you can measure what each player has done and the top four scorers on the team show just how consistent and good they were. Damon Kull and Colin Criss each ended the season with an exact 38.5 average score with seniors, Ben Hannah and Devin Daiker scoring 42.1 and 42.2 respectively. Criss and Kull were both named to the league all-star team.
Tim Leach, coach of the boy championship track team, had many all-star selections to name. The better you do as a team, the more all-stars you get. Three seniors, who all had personal bests in the championship meets, were all selected to the team. Pat Venetz, Ryan Queen and Rex Rimato are the departing seniors who will be missed. Bill Rockhill, the other senior, was injured and could not take part in the meets.
Other all-stars on the track team were; Trevor Godemann, Kevin Kress, Connor Rockhill, Ethan Kress and Lance Frymire. Dakota Earl made the honorable mention team. Dane Daiker was selected as the “rookie of the year.”
Last, Dave Leach, Athletic Director, presented the Master Awards to the following seniors who all had enough varsity letters to qualify. Alicia Burnett, Ada Rannels, Ben Hannah, Damon Kull and Matt Mitchell were all the recipients of that grand award.
With that evening over, the present officers of the Varsity Club, President, Parker Clemans; Vice President, Billy Rockhill; Secretary, Courtney Holt; and Treasurer, Pat Venetz all step down to make room for the new officers: President, Kevin Kress; Vice President, Jessica Hannah; Secretary, Daria Orekhov and Treasurer, Parker Clemans.